

Press Release

Holding of by-elections in seven constituencies and two wards

The Malawi Electoral Commission is informing the general public that by elections in all the seven constituencies and two wards that are vacant shall be held on 30th March, 2021.

In planning of these by-elections, the Commission will conduct stakeholders' meetings to launch the elections in the constituencies on Friday, 19th February, 2021 as follows:

- 1. Nsanje Central Constituency at Fatima TDC
- 2. Nsanje North Constituency at Mpasa TDC
- 3. Chikwawa East Constituency at Livunzu TDC
- 4. Ntchisi North Constituency at Malomo TDC
- 5. Zomba Changalume Constituency at St Anthony TDC
- 6. Lilongwe Msinja South Constituency at Chankhandwe TDC
- 7. Karonga North West Constituency at Maghemo Sec School Hall

The launch meetings in the wards will take place on Saturday, 20th February, 2020 as follows:

- 8. Liviridzi Ward in Balaka West Constituency at Livunzu TDC
- 9. Chitakale Ward in Mulanje South Constituency at Mulanje Council Hall.

All interested stakeholders are invited to these public meetings where the Commission will be releasing the electoral calendar and will take questions for clarification.

Signed this 17th day of February, 2021 at Blantyre.

Sam Alfandika

Chief Elections Officer